Round ‘Em Up – Monday

23 06 2008

After picking up another win last night, the Milwaukee Brewers hit the road to take on the Atlanta Braves. Since the crushing road sweep against Boston on May 20th, the Crew is the hottest team in baseball, going 21-10. Also, no MLB team has hit more home runs that the Brewers’ 39.

Here’s what’s on the front burner today:

* Other NL Central teams: Cubs 7-1 over the White Sox, Cards fall to BoSox in 13. Zambrano to the DL, but “avoids major injury.”

* Brew Crew Ball works overtime to snag interviews. Option 1: Brevard County’s Stephan Chapman and/or Option 2: Draft pick Daniel Medows.

* The JS’s Tom Hardicourt weighs in on a Brewers-for-Sabathia-trade. I still think that this is a no-way-Jose trade. McClung has emerged as a good contributor in the rotation, Bush seems to be holding his own, and as long as Parra and Suppan’s performances were just temporary slips we’re fine on the starting pitching front. This all makes even more sense when you know that the Brewers org isn’t going to toss out prospects for a one-year fix. Melvin and Attanasio have repeatedly talked about building for the future AND the now so with the Crew still competitive with their current set up, the org is not going to sell on the future.

* Support for the Crew at home and away continues to rise. Note: the second story uses the headline “Brewers Nation.” I know that I’m not all up in arms that they “stole” our site name (I’m talking to you South Side Rub).

* Russell “the muscle” Branyan by-the-numbers.

* From the “obvious news department” (aka Fox Sports): McClung continues to impress.

* Viva Cerveceros is glad we had Craig Counsell to cover our butts while Weeks was gone. Me too. I thought Counsell did well in the lead off spot while Rickie was gone. Now that we doesn’t have to come down from the ozone with the batting stance he’s a better hitter. Defense isn’t all that bad either.

* Laynce Nix arrested for DUI in Nashville last night. Oops

Dan Out.

By: Dan Wiersema

Actions

Information

18 responses

23 06 2008
Aaron

And a series recap by me! Just playin’. I feel so undeserving when I get on the round up after watching what you and Jeff over at Brew Crew Ball have done. Impressive work fellas. I haven’t had to go anywhere except for here, JS and BCB for all my news in a very long time, at least with regard to the Brewers.

Jeff Sackman has got some serious connections, or at least he’s building them. He really knows how to track down players and get some interviews. It motivates me to try and do it myself. How did you go about getting to LuCroy and the Huntsville announcer Jim?

23 06 2008
Andrew D.

Aaron…I don’t want to speak for the makers of this website, but getting interviews requires in my humble opinion…….. extreme patience and objectivity. Most interviewers I’ve encountered believe themselves to be objective, but in reality they are not. Their arrogance and hidden agenda is impossible to conceal. Like the song says……. “Everybody Knows”…..very true…..everybody knows an arrogant person.

Back to baseball…I am very impressed by the Brewers exprimentation this season so far. When Gallardo got hurt and Bush and Parra struggled, they could have panicked….but instead they called on McLung and weathered Parra’s growing pains….Very smart in my estimation. Some Brewer fans want to win right now. Who doesn’t? We have to keep in mind that building a winning team is a process of good vision which takes an unknown amount of time. Brewers are in good hands. There is no gurantee that because we were so close to winning the division last year…we are going to win this year.

Those that want prospects for Fielder should re-evaluate that idea. We haven’t even seen the peak Fielder yet….He will be even better than last year some day soon…..more plate discipline…more walks…higher average..

23 06 2008
Aaron

Agree with you on Fielder Andrew. But I think in 2-3 years, when he is about to become a free agent, that first base spot has a lot of possibilities with guys who have similar power and plate discipline. He definitely should be here at least until his last year of arbitration and beyond that if he starts playing better defense.

23 06 2008
Andrew D.

Aaron….and that’s why…in my humble opinion, we should put the money down right now for Fielder….If he wants a little more than we offerred, then we should offer a little more. He is worth it and in 2-3 years, he will cost a hell of alot more.
There are legitimate concerns about his defense and the Gallardo incident should not be seen as an isolated occurance. However, he flashes, at times, quick hands and I really believe he will make a conscious effort to improve his on field decisions…..communicating with pitchers about covering first, proper positioning…However, he already demonstrates intelligence when cutting off throws from the outfield and he possesses a good arm when gunning out runners during a cut-off. And to top it all off, this is his team. Look in that clubhouse. Brewer players are a quiet bunch. Fielder is not afraid to have fun. He is not replaceable in my mind. You can flash me all the numbers from AAA you want. A player like Fielder doesn’t come around very often.

23 06 2008
Dan Wiersema

In regards to Fielder I’m not so sure why the argument is either trade him now or sign him now. He’s got a few more years before arbitration and even though he wasn’t super happy about getting tons this year we’re not at a breaking point like the sit with Sheets.

Not that I’m advocating keeping Fielder in an unhappy state…

23 06 2008
Dan Wiersema

PS… sorry that I didn’t get your series recap in the round up this morning. I put together the Round Em Up at 8 or so and your’s wasn’t up when I visited.

* Orioles Series Recap>

23 06 2008
Dan Wiersema

I’m an early bird when it comes to putting stuff on the site. Teachers get summers off and I need something to do with my morning coffee.

23 06 2008
Aaron

Ah, I was just messing with you Dan. Didn’t mean anything at all. I haven’t had much time to write, so I just try to keep on things at your site. Prince is up for arbitration next year so you know.

23 06 2008
Andrew D.

Aaron and Dan….next year arbitration for Prince…..is too soon…….With every passing day, we can add on another couple thousand that he’s worth. This being his third year and filled with all kinds of typically unrealistic expectations, he has shown a new and valuable quality….ability to contyrbute in different ways…..sac flies or walking or whatever…..I think we should panic and sign him quick. And do the same for Sheets before he reels off any more workhorse starts. I think we got the money.

23 06 2008
Dan Wiersema

Ahhh yes. Right again Aaron. Either way I stand by my point that there’s no reason that Fielder’s name should come up as trade-worthy before the season ends.

23 06 2008
Dan Wiersema

But I can also see the value in getting it done. Shuts up the chattering classes. Plus I know that Melvin and Attanasio will put up the money for guys they believe are not replaceable. Cordero obviously was… are Sheets and Fielder? Depends how you see guys like Brad Nelson, Jeffress, etc (those aren’t my top picks just first two that come to mind) in the minors as their potential replacements.

23 06 2008
Aaron

Nelson and Gwynn are the only trade chips I’d be willing to send off, maybe even Sam Narron, who was having a good season if I remember correctly. Even Elizardo Ramierez could get something in return.

Maybe I didn’t say it right, but I agree with you guys with Fielder staying on this team for at least two more years past this season. A long term deal, unfortunately, will never happen with Boras at the helm. He could be the only agent I can’t stand. Nevertheless, Prince will get about $8 mil next year if Ryan Howard’s first year of eligibility has anything to do with it. Should be a very very interesting summer, especially with Sheets probably gone. A rotation of Gallardo, Soup, Parra, McClung and Bush? That’s a problem. Thank God for record attendance this year and free agency.

23 06 2008
Aaron

Oops, I meant winter, not summer, though the summer is going to be just as interesting.

23 06 2008
Bernie Carbo

Who are the chattering masses? I’ve never heard that one before? Anyway, like you say Dan, it depends on how ya see potential replacements in the minors.

In my opinion, the replacement talk is for Weeks and Hardy and Bush and Suppan and eventually Kendall and Branyon..

There is no replacing Braun, Fielder, or Hart, or Sheets or Gallardo……There is only wishfull thinking if they leave.

23 06 2008
Bernie Carbo

Oh…I get it..The chattering masses are all of us.

23 06 2008
Dan Wiersema

I usually associate “chattering masses” with people who blab about stuff with no real insight to add. Those random columnist who report rumors as fact (think ESPN “experts”/former athletes, Badger Blogger, etc.

Not you guys! You all seem to have intelligent things to say.. I like that!

23 06 2008
Dan Wiersema

Now that I think about it… its “chattering classes.” Masses would imply that there are a lot of them, but the “class” is all those dolts that talk for the sake of hearing themselves talk, but actually know very little (and here I am… blah blah blah).

23 06 2008
withmalice

Hello guys…

First time visiting here, and I must say, I like the layout of the blog.

Leave a Reply

