Bush optioned to Nashville

27 04 2008

Manny Parra saved his big league job today with his outing.  He pitched 5.1 innings of two-run ball, and that may have been the outing he needed to beat out Dave Bush in the race for the last spot in the rotation.

Tom Haudricourt reports that Dave Bush has cleared waivers and is on his way to Triple-A Nashville, who could really use some quality pitching right now.  This move clears room for Mike Cameron who will make his debut in a Brewers uniform Tuesday night against the Chicago Cubs.

I was initially surprised that Dave Bush was able to clear waivers.  His 0-3 start with a 6.75 ERA will not impress anyone, but he has a live arm and is still relatively young.  I figured that some team would swoop in and snatch him away from the Crew.

I did not realize that there is a “gentleman’s agreement” between major league GMs to not pick up players off of waivers that still have options left.  This would only complicate the process, as the Brewers could have simply chosen to place him back on the major league squad to block the move.  Players that have three years of major league experience must clear waivers in order to get sent down to Triple-A, but Dave still had a minor league option left.

I am excited to see Mike Cameron in a Brewers uniform.  Hopefully, he’ll be able to inject some life into this lethargic Brewers offense.  I was unable to watch the game today, but I understand that the Brewers were again unable to hit with runners in scoring position.  I was ready to write a recap of the game, but I unfortunately was unable to watch it.  Look for one following Tuesday’s game.  I apologize for the lack of posting after games, but I have been terribly busy lately.  I’m doing what I can for right now.

What do you think?  Should Dave have gotten sent down?

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 04 2008
Bob

Nah, I don’t think he deserved to be sent down, but what else could the Brewers have done? Manny Parra should be in the big leagues. The rotation needs a lefty. Seth McClung has done fine…minus today… Bush just happened to be the odd man out. I just hope Benny is as healthy as everyone says he is…

28 04 2008
Dan

I agree with Bob. The Brewers need to have a lefty in the rotation and Parra pitched good enough in his last start to convince Yost that five righties didn’t make sense. Bush had a solid outing in his last start, but over the last two seasons I haven’t seen enough out of him to convince me that he is day-in and day-out the pitcher the Brewers need. Say what you will about run support, etc a starting pitcher has to be able to defend himself some games and not have hitting support. Bush was rarely able to do that.

His penchent for the big inning where he hemoraged runs was embarassing. Everyone has bad starts, but I can’t think of a game where one or more innings he pitched into jams and then couldn’t get out. Even most pitchers get out of jams at least once in a blue moon. Bush couldn’t.

Bush was a nice guy and a good club house guy, but I don’t see him as the top 5 Brewers pitchers and definately not a bullpen (long inning reliever) guy. Hopefully he can work on some stuff and be able to help us push later in the season or step in if our rotation starts getting roughed up.

The Brewers biggest concern isn’t its pitching right now.. its the hitting.

28 04 2008
BJ

I’m ok with the move… It may not be ideal, but it makes sense right now. Though the bullpen is being overworked, I’d like to see another position player on the bench. 14 pitchers is obsene and 13 seems to stretch things a little thin, but the reality is, I don’t think think it is a good idea unless we start getting more innings from the starters or less innings from the rest of the team!

Leave a Reply

